Board of Trustees

The joint Board of Trustees of the MPI for Biological Intelligence and the MPI of Biochemistry is an important instrument for communicating with the public. Its members are social figures from politics, business, science, culture and the media. They advise and support the institutes on social and science policy issues.

The members of the Board of Trustees are nominated by the President of the Max Planck Society and appointed for a term of six years. At regular meetings, the Trustees* receive up-to-date information on the development of the Institute and the Max Planck Society. The Board of Trustees supports the Institute on social, scientific and political issues.


  • Luitpold Prinz von Bayern
    Entrepreneur, König Ludwig International GmbH & Co. KG
  • Prof. Dr. Peter B. Becker
    CEO, LMU Biomedical Center, Planegg-Martinsried
  • Prof. Dr. Francesca Biagini
    Vice President for International Affairs and Diversity, Ludwig-Maximilians University, Munich
  • Prof. Dr. Alena Buyx
    Director, Institute of Ethics in Medicine and Health Technologies, Technical University of Munich
  • Prof. Dr. Marianne Dieterich
    Director, LMU Neurological Clinic, Clinic Großhadern, Ludwig-Maximilians University, Munich
  • Stefan Frey
    Head of Landratsamt Starnberg
  • Christoph Göbel
    Head of Landratsamt Landkreis Munich
  • Prof. Dr. Michael John Gorman
    Founding Director, BIOTOPIA – Naturkundemuseum Bayern e.V..
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Hofmann
    President, Technical University of Munich, Freising
  • Jonas Kaufmann
    Kammersänger, Munich
  • Hermann Nafziger
    1. Mayor of the Municipality of Planegg, Planegg
  • Werner Reuß
    Head of Programs Insight & Education, Bayerischer Rundfunk, Munich
  • Prof. Dr. Monika Schnitzer
    Director Comparative Economics, Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich
  • Andreas Sentker
    Head of purview „Insight“, DIE ZEIT
  • Dr. Marlene Weiß
    Head of purview „Insight“, Süddeutsche Zeitung GmbH, Munich
  • MDirig Dr. Manfred Wolter
    Head of Department Innovation, Science, Technology, Digitalization, Bavarian State Ministry of Economics, Munich
  • Dr. Peter Hanns Zobel
    CEO, Innovation and Start-up Centre for Biotechnology IZB (Fördergesellschaft), Planegg-Martinsried
Go to Editor View