Photo with part of the institute's entrance in the background and the Max Planck face (statue) up close.

Emeritus Scientific Members

The institute's high standing is due in no small part to its renowned Emeritus Scientific Members. Peter Berthold headed a department at the Max Planck Institut for Ornithology until 2004. Hartmut Wekerle was director at the Max Planck Institute of Neurology until his retirement in 2011. The Nobel Prize winner Bert Sakmann, headed an emeritus research group at the MPI of Neurobiology after his retirement from the Max Planck Institute for Medical Research in Heidelberg.

On the following pages, you can read more about the scientific achievements and careers of these outstanding scientists.

Go to Editor View